Bible · Blog · Family · Journey · Life · Love · Marriage · Military · National Guard · Photos · Testimony

Moment of Truth: Facing My Feelings

He’s gone. God give me strength. #Wife #Husband #NationalGuard

I wasn’t planning on sharing this on my blog. I’m trying not to lie, but I’m having a hard time being open about this. This has brought a lot of mixed emotions. On the outside, I am cool, confident and secure. On the inside, I’m nervous, worried, and anxious.

January 4, 2016, my husband left me.  He left to complete his basic training at Fort Jackson in South Carolina. I’m so proud of my best friend because he has been trying for so long to join. The past two years have really challenged the both of us, our marriage and our spirituality. I remember when he first told me he was signing up for the military while we were engaged. I was shocked. I always thought he would be a regular joe. A man who clocked in and out every day. I was obviously happy on the outside, and knowing my husband, he knew I wasn’t entirely eager on the inside. A couple of months after we got married, he found out that he was horribly deceived. He signed up just like everyone else, filled out the application, paperwork, and forms. He completed physicals and drills, only to be told lies. One minute he was in the army and the next he wasn’t.

I still don’t know what happened, how he got the boot and why. Although I was disappointed on the outside, I was relieved on the inside. But, my husband was wrecked. He was disappointed that all his hard work was in vain. He was humiliated; after telling so many family and friends of his next big adventure.  Being publicly humiliated, left with empty pockets made him feel so small. I was so frustrated and sad for him because he was a victim, yet some treated him like a villain. It was a battle I couldn’t win for him. It was difficult watching him struggle. He had questions, he was hurt, and he looked alone.

As horrible as the past two years have been, I am so grateful that it made me fall down on my knees and pray. All the bad, inconveniences, and deceit the past year made me depend on his Word like never before. It wasn’t easy watching my best friend be gutted like a fish, so helpless to vulnerability. My husband went through so much back-stabbing, gossipers, betrayals, liars, and two face crooks. I saw sides of him that made my heart ache.

So, when my husband told me again that he was signing up for the military. Can you imagine my face? An eruption of emotions bellowed from me. I was confused that he wanted to risk the everything again for nothing but uncertainties. I was insulted that he would risk our relationship to try another attempt at failure. Not to mention, it would now mean leaving me alone with our daughter. I kind of came off as unsupportive and as you get to know me, I a very supportive, loving friend and wife. Just, after the roller coaster of the disappointment last time, I really didn’t want to get on the ride again. He kept telling me over and over that this time will be different. So, I bit my tongue and held two thumbs up and made sure to hold back my tears until everyone went to sleep.

DSCN1316I’m trying not to lie, my prayers were a little conflicted. I would tell my husband that I’m praying for him to get in, but behind closed doors, I would tell God to belay that prayer and bless him to stay home. I just didn’t want to sign up and watch my husband go through the same horror. Can you blame me? I would ask God over and over, moan and groan, and lament for another story for my husband. One that didn’t require him leaving.

As romantic the idea of being married to a soldier might be, it takes a huge commitment. As honorable as the position is, I don’t take it lightly and appreciate every military family because of it. It’s not an easy task. Once he learned of his departure date, it was sealed. My husband was packing up to be a soldier. It’s been a couple days since he left and I’m cool. Taking it a breath at a time. My worst fear is that he comes back home broken and disappointed again. If you are married, then you know how challenging it can be to hold up a broken man. So, it’s out of my hands and all I have left to do is pray.

9 thoughts on “Moment of Truth: Facing My Feelings

  1. Your such a strong woman and soooo smart and have a beautiful family don’t give up hope and don’t let this scare you he will be okay I have faith God won’t let anything happen to him. This is something so scary cuz my husband and I were looking into signing up but it didn’t happen things happened and he changed his mind it I know the fears and doubts in your mind. Everything will be okay girl you got this!! 💪🏼

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the love and supporting words. I just want to get through this with style, grace, and peace. The last thing I need is for something horrible to happen, cause I might just fall apart.

      xoxox

      Like

      1. Girl don’t worry please I know it’s hard but your husband is doing this to become a better man,father and partner and still all be worth it in the end there are a lot of perks of having a solider man 😊💕👨‍👩‍👧

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aww girl no worries always here for support ❤️ I know the feeling of feeling alone and needing my man with me but he’s out there working and busting his butt for his family and that’s what’s the best feeling knowing in the end I will be taken care us just like you we are strong mamas and we have our daughters to be here with and we can show them what strength is 😘❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hang in there girl! You have to keep it together for your baby. She needs you the most. Your husband will do great! I know it’s going to be really hard to be away from him for awhile. I’m sure this will make your relationship stronger than ever! He’s doing a great thing. Hugs and prayers for you all! Keep your head up! Keep busy and keep blogging! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

