Blog · Journey · Lesson Learned · Life

Moment of Truth: Learn From The Past, Grow Toward The Future

year-in-reviewAs I finally turn the page on 2016, I’m amazed at how light and free I feel. Every New Year brings an opportunity to embrace change and total transformation. Whether you choose to welcome it or not is entirely up to you. It can be scary moving forward into uncertainty and leaving familiar behind. But all the life lessons I learned in 2016, I now understand that what God has for me can’t be denied to me. I know with confidence that nothing can force something into my life without God’s permission. It took the whole 2016 year to accept this because for a long time I always doubted if I could make it to today.

For almost three years I was in a very confused and painful place. I was dealing with a painful disappointment, a long separation, and a constant feeling that I would never heal, never be set free. I was terrified of what was to come of the future because everything behind me was so painful and disappointing. It was like a never ending storm cloud constantly following me. I had to learn the hard way that worrying, stressing, and panicking wasn’t going to get me what I desired. The more I focused on my problems, the greater my problems seemed.

invite-god-inThe second I invited God in and kept him was when my heart healed, my way of thinking improved and my situation changed. The more Word I received the more healing I got too. I’m at the place where I understand why I went through all that I went through this year. Granted, it didn’t make going through it any better, just it brought a complete acceptance in my spirit that I was fighting for so long. This 2017 I am living to embrace everything no matter what it is. I can hold hands with destiny without worry. I can say I’m loved by God and not doubt it.

I’m done clinging on to the pain because despite how bad things got, growth, perseverance, and faith came from those bad experiences. With every rise and downfall of 2016, it planted a seed of strength, wisdom, and victory that I am just now seeing in me. 2016 was a year full of fighting, crying, and praying for my blessing. In the struggle of it all, I discovered who I am in Christ and who God is to me. Our relationship has definitely grown in 2016.

God allowed ways to be made in my life that I’m still in awe of. Incredible things happened that I could’ve never accomplished on my own. Life began to not just feel different, but I was different. My biggest life lesson of 2016 is to never stop falling in love with Jesus Christ. To stay in love with him no matter what. Fall in love with Him everyday despite how life is. He is a committed, devoted, ride-or-die kind of God that makes the journey sweeter. Sometimes it’s going to be unpredictable or confusing. But with Christ, there is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

unfailing-loveBy accepting and trusting in Him, he covered me with His love, his assurance, and grace. From there, troubles came and it didn’t knock me down to the ground. My relationship with God and how I viewed my problems changed for the better. I learned to look past the problem, circumstances, and draw near to God. Every time I stayed in his presence I was transformed. Don’t miss your opportunity to be transformed by the lessons you’ve learned in 2016. Take in the process because it’s the very thing that will change your life forever.

In 2016 I learned to stop carrying the past in order to move forward. I’ve learned that death is a gift. Death is unavoidable. Death forces us to stop and change. It reminds us that all things must come to end so new things can begin. Whether I liked it or not, I had a lot of moments where I had to die. Whether it was putting my selfish habits to rest, ceasing my negative behavior, or changing how I respond to situations. I’ve learned that people and things are just that and nothing more. I can’t live my life counting solely on who I have in my life and what I have. No, I have to have confidence in God alone.

In 2017 I’m giving all that I have to God. I will no longer allow what has happened to determine my tomorrows. I believe life is all about giving it all you got. What better way than to give your all to God. I learned that when I give God all of me that’s when I can expect the most unexpected blessings to occur in my life. The more I focused on myself, the further I  was away from God’s plan for me. In this moment, looking back I see and feel so much growth. I fought to become who I am. I fought to have days where I can smile. And what makes me smile the hardest is that God fought right beside me. I realize that every step of the way He was right beside me. Whether I held his hand or ran away, he was there keeping me.

This lets me know that in 2017 that He will still be right there alongside me. Who I was at the start of 2016 is not who I intend to be in 2017. When I look in the mirror I see a stronger, sassier, improved version of myself. It’s an indescribable feeling that no amount of bad could hold me back. It’s a new year, a new day, and a new me!

Leave a Reply

