Bible · Blog · Christmas · Holidays · Life · Love · Photos

Life Moment: Christmas Eve

 

Christmas was always a conflicting time for me when I was younger. I struggled with celebrating Christmas because of Santa Claus. As a Christian, I loved celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ. On the other hand, those classic entertaining stories of “How The Grinch Stole Christmas,” “Santa Claus” movies (the Tim Allen version is my favorite) and “Jack Frost” has always been a warm way of celebrating the winter season. I always felt like I was cheating on Jesus if I celebrated Santa, hung a decorated tree, and sung about grandma getting ran over by a reindeer. But no one wants to be the oddball not giving or receiving any shiny, decorative gifts. Maybe it’s just me but I felt like I was serving two masters.

I never could pick a side. At school, I was the Santa Claus loving, ho, ho, ho, and jingle bells girl. At church, I would sing hymns, learn about the meaning of the star and participate in Sunday School plays.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas music and the flashy decorations but I always knew that the real reason for Christmas was Jesus Christ being born. I don’t know about you but I always felt conflicted about celebrating Christmas the “Santa” way and the “Jesus” way. Have you? Not anymore!

I love the nativity story about Mary and Joseph having baby Jesus in the manager. It is dramatic and compelling and shows me that anything beautiful and good can come out of a bad situation. Mary’s integrity and reputation were on the line when she agreed to carry the Savior. Back then, having a baby out of wedlock was actually a bad thing! Not to mention, Joseph was probably feeling hurt and betrayed.

He assumed that Mary was cheating and was almost ready to get rid of her. It’s beautiful how Joseph looked past her current state and saw the promise of God in her life. He didn’t look at where she was, what others said, but had trust in God that everything will work out. They both started out with nothing and still loved and respected each other. Their character, reputation and marriage was tested. Mary and Joseph walked in total confidence in God. They had the entire world against and they didn’t let that stop them from being the best spouse and parent they could be.

Now how can Santa compete with that! I mean, yeah, he brings all the good children amazing toys and the bad children get coal. But Jesus’s gift is for everyone. Good or bad, right or wrong, everyone can get a gift from Jesus. Santa Claus is a nice guy and everything but at a certain age, unless you never grow up, he starts to become irrelevant. While as Jesus Christ never gets old. I mean he grows up to die for all mankind. Santa Claus mainly drinks cocoa and cookies. The most credit I will give Santa is he is an incredible entrepreneur. Makes me laugh because as loving and kindhearted as Santa can be, he is nothing compared to Jesus Christ.

One thought on “Life Moment: Christmas Eve

Leave a Reply

