Bible · Blog · Journey · Life · Photos

Life Lesson: We All Have A Destiny…Part 1

We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith, if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach, if it is to encourage, then give encouragement, if it is giving, then give generously, if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.

Romans 12:6-8


What is your passion?
What is your favorite thing you love to do more than anything? When I think of Romans 12:6-8 I believe that everyone has a part to play in God’s plan. I believe that from the smallest to the biggest, anyone can do something for Christ in a special way. When I was a kid I loved to write. I’ve expressed this passion in previous posts. However, my confidence and passion for writing weren’t always self-assured.  I struggled with insecurities and feeling inadequate. Mostly, in the body of Christ. I struggled for years with how I fit into it all.

At home, I was the responsible older sister that kept things together. At school, I was the reliable, dependable student that always did her homework, never got in trouble and usually did the extra credit. At church, I felt alone. I was stuck in the shadow of my older brother, matched set with my sisters, and rarely treated as an individual. For the longest I felt like three entirely different people. So, I proceeded to act as how I was treated, never fighting for my voice or giving my passion a chance to live. While everyone else complimented and praised me I silently suffered. I was receiving approval and support for something I didn’t have a passion for.

For so long I was living to maintain what others wished to see in me. I never pursued what I dreamed of being. I was consumed with the visions given to me by others so much that I never bothered to ask what God had for me. I thought that the approval I received from others was what God was directing me to do. I was really drowning in discontentment, dissatisfaction, fear, and ultimately giving up on my destiny. I was playing it safe for so long that I was petrified if I broke out, then no one would see me. If I spoke out about how I felt, no one would hear me. One day I realized that people were already bypassing the real Victoria. I allowed myself to be muted and invisible.

 

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

